ResearchGuides: Panama Canal Resources: Canal History

Canal Journals

Bulletin du canal interocéanique by Compagnie universelle du canal interocéanique de Panama
Call Number: Serials
Publication Date: 1879 to 1888
The Library has some gaps in holdings. See the catalog record for details.
Proceedings: Isthmian Canal Commission (U.S.)
Call Number: Serials
Publication Date: 1904-1905
Canal Record by Isthmian Canal Commission (U.S.)
Call Number: Serials
Publication Date: 1907-1916
The Panama Canal record : official publication of the Panama Canal.
Call Number: Serials
Publication Date: 1916-1931
Annual report of the Isthmian Canal Commission for the year ending ...
Call Number: W 73.1: Government Documents
Publication Date: 1904-1914
Annual report of the Governor of the Panama Canal for the fiscal year ended ... by Canal Zone: Office of the Governor.
Call Number: Serials
Publication Date: 1915-1951
Code of federal regulations. 35, Panama Canal.
Call Number: AE 2.106/3:35 /2006 Government Documents

Materials in the Collection

Map, described as "Old French Company" in A. B. Nichols notebooks. View the full image in our digital collections.

Listed below are examples of materials available in the Linda Hall Library collections. Search our catalog for additional materials.

The Bunau-Varilla brothers and the Panama Canal by Loizillon, Gabriel J.
Call Number: 2nd Floor F1566.45 .L64 2013
ISBN: 9781300558408
Beyond the Big Ditch by Ashley Carse
Call Number: 2nd Floor TC774 .C243 2014
ISBN: 9780262028110
The Darkest Jungle: the true story of the Darién expedition and America's ill-fated race to connect the seas by Todd Balf
Call Number: HE537.1 .B35 2003
List of books and of articles in periodicals relating to interoceanic canal and railway routes : (Nicaragua; Panama, Darien, and the valley of the Atrato; Tehuantepec and Honduras; Suez Canal) by Hugh A. Morrison, Jr.
Call Number: LHL Rare Book Cage. Z881 .L5 1900
An extensive bibliography of pamphlets, journal articles, and books dealing with various potential routes for a canal across the Central American Isthmus plus a chapter on the Suez Canal.
Philippe Bunau-Varilla: the man behind the Panama Canal by Gustave Anguizola
Call Number: TC774 .A67 1980
For books by Bunau-Varilla, search our catalog.
The Building of the Panama Canal in Historic Photographs by Ulrich Keller
Call Number: TC774 .K26 1983
Report to the Board of Consulting Engineers for the Panama Canal by George W. Davis, John F. Stevens, and John Findley Wallace
Call Number: TC774 .U25 1906 v. 1 and 2; Rare Book Cage
This is John Stevens personal copy. It includes meetings and support for the decision to build the higher level canal. Available in the History of Science Center.
Special message of the President of the United States concerning the Panama Canal, communicated to the two houses of Congress on December 17, 1906. Second session of the Fifty-ninth Congress.
Call Number: TC774 .U55 1906 Rare Book Cage
In the History of Science Library.
See the catalog record for a summary. This message includes lists of relevant diseases; photographs of digging sewers; paving streets; negro, bachelor and married quarters; salaries; maps...

Web Sites

Panama Canal: American Experience
Resources from the PBS series on the canal. Includes a timeline, excerpts from the series, photos, primary resources, articles, photos, and more.
Canal de Pánama: official website
Shipping information, statistics, photographs and multimedia presentations, ...
Panama and the Canal: University of Florida Digital Collections
Includes oral histories, stereographs, digital copies of materials from the collections and information about additional materials available at the University of Florida.
Panama Canal Museum
"Dedicated to the United States' role in the history of Panama." From the University of Florida. Includes a timeline of events, interesting facts, past exhibits, and links to digital materials and collections.
The Panama Canal: The African American Experience
by Patrice C. Brown. From a special issue of Prologue Magazine, from the National Archives.
The Epic Engineering of the Panama Canal Overhaul: Science Channel Program
Built in 1914, the Panama Canal couldn’t handle today’s modern ships. Get a feel for the scope of one of the largest modern infrastructure projects as engineers overhaul the Canal.