ResearchGuides: Panama Canal Resources: Engineering & Technology

Examples of Materials in the Collections

Panama Canal: an engineering treatise by Goethals, George W. ed.; International Engineering Congress, San Francisco.
Call Number: TC774 .G72 1916 2 vols. Rare Book Cage
A series of papers covering in full detail the technical problems involved in the construction of the Panama Canal - geology, climatology, municipal engineering; dredging, hydraulics, power plants, etc. Prepared by engineers and other specialists in charge of the various branches of the work and presented at the International Engineering Congress, San Francisco, California, 1915.
System relationships for Panama Canal water supply study by Lewis G. Hulman; Hydraulic Engineering Center (U.S.)
Call Number: D 103.55:26 Government Documents
Publication Date: 1971
Project for the Panama Canal, by Lindon W. Bates, with general plans and profiles of the waterway, the regulation works and the terminal harbors... by Lindon W. Bates
Call Number: TC774 .B25 1905 Rare Book Cage
Publication Date: 1905
Panama Canal pamphlets. 1852-1908.
Call Number: TC774 .A23 1852 Rare Book Cage
The Library holds 8 collections of pamphlets and articles on the Panama Canal with dates from 1852 to 1923, originally collected and bound by the Engineering Societies Library. This collection includes an article on the Gatun Dam and earth dams in general, a world map showing shipping routes thru the isthmus of Panama, a statement of the Panama Canal engineering conflicts, and other materials.

Additional pamphlet binders can be found by searching the library's catalog using the phrase, "Panama Canal pamphlets".
Towpaths to Tugboats, a History of American Canal Engineering by William H. Shank; Robert S. Mayo; Thomas F. Hahn; T. Gibson Hobbs Jr.
Call Number: TC623 .S53 1982
Published by the American Canal Society

Databases

ASCE's Civil Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
"ASCE's free information retrieval service providing access to over 170,000 bibliographic records of all ASCE publications."
National Transportation Library Database This link opens in a new window
"Information that supports transportation policy, research, operations, and technology transfer activities from federal, state, local, tribal and other government agencies."