Paleontology: Web Resources

• Berkeley Paleo Collections – Digitized image collections of microfossil, vertebrate, plant, and invertebrate specimens from the University of California Museum of Paleontology 
• Bibliography of Fossil Vertebrates – The Indexed Published Literature of Vertebrate Paleontology, 1509-1993  
• Bibliography of Paleobotany – University of Kansas 
• Digital Atlas of Ancient Life – National Science Foundation
• Dino Directory – Directory of known dinosaur species from the British Natural History Museum  
• The Dinosauria – Educational website from the University of California – Berkeley 
• FAUNMAP – An electronic database documenting late Quaternary distributions of mammal species 
• Fossilworks
• GB3D Type Fossils – British Geological Society
• A Guide to the Orders of Trilobites
• iDigPaleo – Database of digitized insect fossil collections 
• Index Animalium 
• NMITA – Taxonomic database of marine life from the Neogene period 
• North American Stratigraphic Code – American Association of Petroleum Geologists
• The Paleobiology Database – Provides fossil occurrence and taxonomic data across geological ages
• Paleoclimatology data – NOAA
• PALEOMAP
• The Paleontology Portal – University of California Museum of Paleontology 
• Pyenson Lab: Blog from the Pysenson Lab, a research group studying the evolution and paleobiology of marine vertebrates, with posts about their field work, research, and marine paleobiology more generally
• Smithsonian Global Volcanism Program

Linda Hall Library Research Specialists are available all hours that the Library is open.  9-5 Central Time, Monday through Friday.

Call: 800.662.1545 or 816.926.8701

Email us at reference@lindahall.org  or use the Reference Request Form.

Click here for more information about using the Library.

An fossil identification app; companion to the Digital Atlas of Ancient Life (National Science Foundation)