Skip to main content
Linda Hall Library
Science • Engineering • Technology

A Basic Guide to Getting Started at the Library: Home

Using the library's resources and collections

About the Library

 Linda Hall Library

Linda Hall Library is an independent research library specializing in science, engineering and technology.

The library is open to the public free of charge. Please register to receive a library card on your first visit and present it on following visits.

Library hours:  

Monday to Friday 9:00am - 5:00pm Central Time

Contact the library at 816.363.4600 or 800.662.1545

Learn more about the library and its collections, history, and events by visiting the library's webpage.

Directions to the Library and Parking

Linda Hall Library

5109 Cherry Street

Kansas City, MO  64110

 

Map showing location of Linda Hall Library

Free parking for library patrons is available. Enter the library's parking lot by turning east off of Cherry Street. As you come up the driveway, you will need to stop at the parking attendant's booth to verify that you are visiting the library.

Required Procedure When Exiting the Library

Please note that all persons entering the library are subject to its rules, including inspection of books and other items when exiting, or when requested by library staff.  Copies of the rules are available at public service desks.

Please allow staff to check your bags, backpacks, briefcases, purses, papers, etc, as you leave the library. Thank you for your cooperation.

Reference Assistance

Linda Hall Library Reference Desk and Main Reading Room

The Reference Desk is located just inside the library's entrance, in the Main Reading Room.  Please present your library card to staff at the Reference Desk upon arrival.

Reference staff are always available to provide assistance during the library's hours, Mon-Fri 9:00-5:00 Central Time. We can help you with any questions about using the library and its resources.  If you're new to the library, please stop by the Reference Desk and we can help you get started or answer any questions you may have.

Public computers provide access to the library's resources.  They are located just across from the Reference Desk. No sign-up is required.  If it's very busy and other patrons are waiting to use a computer, please limit use to 1/2 hour.  Most of the time, there is plenty of computer availability.

You can reach Reference at 816.926.8701 or 800.662.1545, option 2.

E-mail Reference at reference@lindahall.org.

Electronic Resources

Library's online catalog - Find books, journals, conference proceedings, government documents, government sponsored technical reports, industry standards and specifications, and engineering societies' papers.

Databases - Use these to find articles and papers. 

The Reference Desk staff can assist you in using these electronic resources. We will show you how to locate and retrieve specific items from the collections.  Please let us know if you have any questions. 

Computer printouts are 15 cents per page.  You can pick up and pay at the Reference Desk.

The Collections

The library collects materials in several areas of science, engineering and technology.

Major subject areas include:

Engineering, Chemistry, Physics, History of Science and Technology, Mathematics, Astronomy, Biology, and Geology. 

Many additional subjects are included.  Please consult the library's online catalog or contact Reference for more information about the library's collections and holdings: reference@lindahall.org; or 800.662.1545 and choose option 2; or local 816.926.8701/764.

The library's collections include books, journals, conference proceedings, U.S. Federal Government publications and technical reports, industry standards and specifications, engineering societies' meeting papers, and more.

What's not collected?  The collection generally excludes clinical medicine, dentistry, social sciences, and business.  Collection coverage is limited in agriculture.

Read more about the library's collections.