It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Engineering Societies Papers: Searching for Papers
Along with the ESL Collections Linda Hall Library received a collection of meeting programs and other finding aids to the ESL Papers collections. Research Specialists can search these resources to locate a paper number or publication location for many papers in the collections.
Many early papers and publications can be found by searching Google Books. Once you've identified the publication of interest, contact us to see if we have a copy in our collection.
Digital Collections - American Engineering Publications 1867-1920
These text searchable indexes include materials from the American Society of Civil Engineers, the American Institute of Electrical Engineers (precursor to IEEE), as well as indexes to other early engineering publications.
"Compendex is a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research. It includes bibliographic citations and abstracts from engineering journals and conference proceedings." The LHL subscription includes the backfile(1884-1969).
Subscription database, available for searching in the library.
This database includes a selection of ASME and ASCE papers that have proven difficult to find because indexing sources have not included paper numbers or because they were not indexed by the major indexing services. Though some of the papers included in the database were published as early as 1952, most were published between 1991 and 2001.