It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases and other Electronic Resources at Linda Hall Library: All Resources
This guide lists databases, catalogs, and other electronic resources for finding information. Click on the tabs below to display resources under those headings.
"The State Historical Society of Missouri Research Center-Kansas City contains primary source materials for research and welcomes use by scholars, students, and the public. Our network allows for the holdings of all four centers in Columbia, Kansas City, Rolla, and St. Louis to be available to researchers throughout the state of Missouri." [Formerly Western Historical Manuscript Collection-Kansas City]
"Compendex is a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research. It includes bibliographic citations and abstracts from engineering journals and conference proceedings." The LHL subscription includes the backfile(1884-1969). Subscription database, available for searching in the library.
Subscription database, available for searching in the library.
This database includes a selection of engineering papers that have proven to be difficult to find. Though some of the papers included in the database were published as early as 1952, most of the papers were published between 1991 and 2001, most by ASME and ASCE. The database was developed as a finding aid for these papers and no attempt has been made to make the database comprehensive.
"The USDA National Agricultural Library collection of more than 3.5 million items covers all aspects of agriculture and related sciences."
Chemical Abstracts - Collective Indexes covering 1987-2006
When at a Linda Hall Library workstation you can access this database by clicking the Start button at bottom left of screen, select 'Programs', then select 'CA on CD'. Choose one 5-year index at a time to search. For assistance, please ask at the Reference Desk.
"Searches over 50 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 12 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results."
Science.gov searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
NTIS maintains the world’s most comprehensive collection of U.S.-sponsored research, housing more than 3 million publications on topics that range from aerodynamics to urban development. The archive spans the Manhattan project to present.