ResearchGuides: Bridges: Resources for Civil Engineers

Free Science and Engineering Databases

ASCE's Civil Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
"ASCE's free information retrieval service providing access to over 170,000 bibliographic records of all ASCE publications."
Google Books This link opens in a new window
Search an index of the world's books, with many of them previewed or provided in full for free.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a simple way to search across many disciplines and sources for scholarly literature.
NTIS - National Technical Information Service This link opens in a new window
NTIS maintains the world’s most comprehensive collection of U.S.-sponsored research, housing more than 3 million publications on topics that range from aerodynamics to urban development. The archive spans the Manhattan project to present.
Science .gov This link opens in a new window
"Searches over 50 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 12 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results."
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
"WorldCat connects you to the collections and services of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide."

These database are only available within the Linda Hall Library.

TRID Database from the Transportation Research Board This link opens in a new window
"Provides access to over 940,000 records of transportation research worldwide."

American National Standards Institute This link opens in a new window
Standards Developer and Vendor
Accuris (formerly TechStreet and IHS Global) This link opens in a new window
Standards Vendor
Nimonik (formerly Document Center) This link opens in a new window
Standards Vendor
Military Standards/Specifications This link opens in a new window
Access to Defense Standardization Program documents from the official Department of Defense repository, the ASSIST database
Beuth Verlag This link opens in a new window
German and other European standards