Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These databases are freely available on the web and may be searched from anywhere.
BioOne This link opens in a new window
A collection of peer reviewed journals in the fields of biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. The collection may be searched without a subscription. Open access content provided.
bioRxiv This link opens in a new window
"bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory..." Started in November of 2013, the archive has a limited number of articles at this time.
Agricola This link opens in a new window
"The USDA National Agricultural Library collection of more than 3.5 million items covers all aspects of agriculture and related sciences."
Entrez - the Life Sciences Search Engine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to genomic and biomedical information.
GreenFILE from EBSCO
Explores global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and other topics related to the environment.
Espacenet This link opens in a new window
Database of "more than 50 million patent documents from all over the world" provided by the European Patent Office.
Google Books This link opens in a new window
Search an index of the world's books, with many of them previewed or provided in full for free.
Google Patents This link opens in a new window
Search US patents and applications.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a simple way to search across many disciplines and sources for scholarly literature.
NTIS - National Technical Information Service This link opens in a new window
NTIS maintains the world’s most comprehensive collection of U.S.-sponsored research, housing more than 3 million publications on topics that range from aerodynamics to urban development. The archive spans the Manhattan project to present.
Science .gov This link opens in a new window
"Searches over 50 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 12 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results."
TOXNET This link opens in a new window
"Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases."
US Copyright Office This link opens in a new window
Searches "works registered and documents recorded by the U.S. Copyright Office since January 1, 1978."
US Patent & Trademark Office This link opens in a new window
Search for US patents and trademarks.
These databases are available in the Library at our Public Workstations or via our WiFi network.
A Reference Specialist is available during library hours, Monday through Friday from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. CST.
Click here for more information about using the Library.