Skip to main content
Linda Hall Library
Science • Engineering • Technology

Engineering Societies Papers: Introduction

Meeting Papers

Reference Assistance

Linda Hall Library Research Specialists are available all hours that the Library is open.  9-5 Central Time, Monday through Friday.

Call: 800.662.1545 or 816.926.8701

Email us at reference@lindahall.org  or use the Reference Request Form.

Click here for more information about using the Library.

Ordering Copies

Copies of Engineering Societies Papers and other materials are available via Linda Hall Library's Document Services.

History of the Engineering Societies Library and Collection

"The United Engineering Foundation Inc. (UEF) is the successor organization to the United Engineering Society (UES) which was founded in 1904 with the generous support of Andrew Carnegie. The members of the UEF are the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE), American Institute of Mining Engineers (AIME), American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), American Society of Mechanical Engineers, and Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). " - from the UES web site. 

In 1995, the Engineering Societies Library (ESL) was transferred to Linda Hall Library.  This collection included many published works, the majority of which can be found by searching our catalog.  The collection included a large number of individual papers from the societies' member organizations, as well as several additional engineering societies.  This papers collection is not currently represented in our catalog but can be accessed using our Reference and Document Services.  Summaries of these holdings as well as those from several other collections are provided in this guide. 

The 5 Founding Engineering Societies

Click on the appropriate tab above to learn more about Linda Hall's holdings.  The links below will take you to the society's web sites. 

Archival Standards

Subject Guide

Michelle Lahey's picture
Michelle Lahey
Contact:
800.662.1545 x776
816.926.8776

Digital Collections - American Engineering Publications 1867-1920

These text searchable indexes include materials from the American Society of Civil Engineers, the American Institute of Electrical Engineers (precursor to IEEE), as well as indexes to other early engineering publications.