Human Evolution and the Discovery of Human Antiquity: Darwin

The Linda Hall Library has several ways to explore the life and works of Darwin and his contributions to our understanding of human origins. Original works by Darwin can be found in the Linda Hall Library History of Science Collection in the Rare Book Room. Some pages are available for viewing through the Linda Hall Library Digital Collections. Search the Linda Hall Library catalog for a number of titles on Darwin, his contemporaries, and his works.

"There is grandeur in this view of life, with its several powers, having been originally breathed into a few forms or into one; and that, whilst this planet has gone cycling on according to the fixed law of gravity, from so simple a beginning endless forms most beautiful and most wonderful have been, and are being, evolved."

                                                                         -Charles Darwin, On the Origin of Species

Darwin, Charles, 1859, Origin of Species. Flyleaf page with
postcard image of Charles Darwin pasted on.

The Grandeur of Life - A Celebration of Charles Darwin and The Origin of Species

The Grandeur of Life | Linda Hall Library Digital Collections

Darwin, Charles. Descent of Man. Volume 1. 1871. Page 15.

Blade and Bone: Discovery of Human Antiquity. An Exhibition of Original Publications from the Collections of the
Linda Hall Library

Discovering Human Antiquity | Linda Hall Library Digital Collections

Darwin, Charles. Descent of Man. Volume 2. 1871. Page 309.

Blade and Bone: Discovery of Human Antiquity. An Exhibition of Original Publications from the Collections of the
Linda Hall Library.

Discovering Human Antiquity | Linda Hall Library Digital Collections

A Reference Specialist is available during library hours, Monday through Friday from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. CST.

Contact us:

• Phone: 800.662.1545 or 816.926.8701.
• For questions about the collections or resources: reference@lindahall.org, or complete the Reference Request Form.
• For questions about library accounts or renewals: circ@lindahall.org.
• Check one of the Reference Guides that may provide additional help.

Click here for more information about using the Library.

Learn about Darwin's impact, his times, and his life at the online Darwin exhibit at the American Museum of Natural History, a perfect starting point for meeting the man whose name is forever linked with the discovery of man's distant past. The site has brief, consice synopses of significant moments in the naturalist's life and glimpses of the fascinating physical exhibit that was held between 2005 and 2006.

According to the website, "Darwin Online is the largest and most widely consulted edition of the writings of Darwin ever published. More copies of Darwin's works have been downloaded from Darwin Online than have been printed by all publishers of the past 180 years combined. It is probably the most extensive scholarly website devoted to any historical figure."