Skip to main content

Coronavirus Disease 2019: Science & Technical Information

Images

Visualizations of selected data in the COVID-19 #CoronaVirus Infographic Datapack 
(source: InformationIsBeautiful.net).

The COVID Tracking Project
Sponsored by The Atlantic.

Government Information

Click here to perform a search for Coronavirus research. 

COVID-19 Open Research Dataset

CORD-19 logo

COVID-19 Open Research Dataset (CORD-19) is a free resource of over 44,000 scholarly articles, including over 29,000 with full text, about COVID-19 and the coronavirus family of viruses for use by the global research community.

The dataset contains all COVID-19 and coronavirus-related research from sources such as bioRxiv and PubMed Central, published by reputable information providers (Wiley, New England Journal of Medicine, etc).

Published Articles

Links to COVID-19 articles and other resources from academic and scientific publishers and organizations such as American Chemical Society/ACS; Library Journal, Taylor & Francis, Wall Street Journal.

Links to organizations providing COVID-19 dashboards and visualizations are here.

 

Standards

Click here for a pre-set search in IEEE Explore; includes standards. 

ANSI logo

Freely Available ISO Standards to Help Address COVID-19 Crisis; March 31, 2020.  Users must register and accept the license agreement.  ANSI portal has been updated and now has 31 ISO standards. 

There is additional available at the ANSI COVID-19 Resource page.

ASTM International is providing no-cost public access to important ASTM standards used in the production and testing of personal protective equipment - including face masks, medical gowns, gloves, and hand sanitizers.

Registration is required; click Access Standards to sign up for Reading Room access.

BSI logo

The British Standards Institution (BSI) is providing access to its personal protective equipment (PPE) standards, as well as medical devices and ventilators standards, with registration.  Read more about BSI's support of COVID-19 research here.

The International Organization for Standardization, in coordination with the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), is providing access to equipment-related standards to assist in fighting the coronavirus outbreak. 

National Library of Medicine/NLM

The Disaster Lit® Database for Disaster Medicine and Public Health provides links to disaster medicine and public health documents available free on the Internet. It includes materials from over 1,400 non-commercial publishing sources such as expert guidelines, research reports, training classes, fact sheets, and similar materials.  Disaster Lit does not include information for the general public.

Click here to retrieve citations from Disaster Lit. 

PubMed is a free resource that provides access to over 30 million citations and abstracts in the areas of medicine, life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.  The database is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)

A brief tutorial is on YouTube (3:02).

NEW!! Click here to retrieve PM citations; some also provide links to free articles

BLAST (Basic Local Alignment Search Tool) : BLAST finds regions of similarity between biological sequences. The program compares nucleotide or protein sequences to sequence databases and calculates the statistical significance.

GenBank ® is the NIH's annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences. It is part of an international collaboration which gathers and publishes DNA sequence information to aid in bbiomedical research.

Data regarding 2019-nCoV sequences can be found in GenBank/SRA (Sequence Read Archive); the Virus resource at the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) site; and on special BLAST page that searches Betacoronavirus sequences.

LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations.

NCBI Virus is a community portal for viral sequence data; it's designed to support retrieval, display and analysis of virus sequences and large sequence datasets.

Click here for direct access to the Severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 data hub.

The Open-i service enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images -- charts, graphs, clinical images, etc. -- from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections.  Open-i provides access to over 3.7 million items.  

Reuse of the images is determined by the license type; a link to the applicable license type, if available, may be found below the image on the detailed view page.

Reference Assistance

Linda Hall Library Research Specialists are available all hours that the Library is open.  9-5 Central Time, Monday through Friday.

Call: 800.662.1545 or 816.926.8701

Email us at reference@lindahall.org  or use the Reference Request Form.

Click here for more information about using the Library.