Skip to main content

Human Evolution and the Discovery of Human Antiquity: Blade and Bone Exhibition

Blade and Bone Online Exhibition

Based on the exhibition from 2012, this site allows visitors to experience, virtually, Linda Hall Library materials related to the discovery of human antiquity with links to everything from the informative wall panels that hung in the Linda Hall Library during the exhibition to a guided text-tour of early discoveries as they appeared in the historical materials housed in the Linda Hall Library History of Science Collection.

Lectures at the Linda Hall Library

The "Relatively Human" Lecture Series includes links to lectures given at the Linda Hall Library duing the "Blade and Bone" exhibition.

Cro-Magnon: How the Ice Age Gave Birth to the First Modern Humans (March 29, 2012)
Brian Fagan, Professor Emeritus of Archaeology, University of California, Santa Barbara

Lucy's Legacy: The Quest for Human Origins (April 24, 2012)
Donald Johanson, Founding Director, Institute of Human Origins, Arizona State University
Lecture video not available. Listen to Dr. Johanson's interview on KCUR's "Up to Date" with Steve Kraske.

Neanderthal Genome Project: New Insights into Human Evolution (May 3, 2012)
Richard Edward Green, Assistant Professor, Biomolecular Engineering, University of California-Santa Cruz

The Pleistocene Meets Middle Earth: The Significance of the Indonesian Hobbits in Human Evolution (May 10, 2012)
Matthew Tocheri, Human Origins Program, Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of Natural History

A few of the Linda Hall Library's Paul D. Bartlett Sr. lectures also discuss topics related to human evolution.

Catching Fire: How Cooking Made us Human (February 25, 2010)
Richard Wrangham, Ruth Moore Professor of Anthropology and Chair of Biological Anthropology, Harvard University

The Evolution of Economic Irrationality: Insights from Monkeys (February 23, 2012)
Laurie R. Santos, Associate Professor of Psychology, Yale University, and the Director of Yale University's Comparative Cognition Laboratory

Blade and Bone Resources

The Blade and Bone online exhibition contains a table of contents that includes monographs, which can be found in the Linda Hall Library History of Science Collection, as well as references for landmark articles that appeared in scholarly journals and introduced the world to the discoveries of human antiquity, copies of which can be viewed in the Rare Book Room.

The Exhibition

In 2012, the "Blade and Bone: The Discovery of Human Antiquity" exhibition was on display at the Linda Hall Library. It offered a look at the turning point, between the late 19th and early 20th centuries, during which the idea of human antiquity and supporting discoveries changed our understanding of human history. Today, the exhibition can be viewed online, and items that were on display from the Linda Hall Library's History of Science Collection can be viewed in the Rare Book Room and in the Linda Hall Library's Digital Collections.

 

Blade and Bone: The Discovery of Human Antiquity, A Linda Hall Library Exhibition Catalog

Some of the items highlighted in the original exhibition catalog (shown above) are available for viewing on the Blade and Bone webpage.

 

View these, the wall panels from the exhibition, and the index of related original materials available in the Linda Hall Library Rare Book Room.

Reference Associate

Kimberly Carter's picture
Kimberly Carter
Contact:
816.926.8723
Website

Linda Hall Library Digital Collections

Dubois, Eugene. Pithecanthropus. 1894. Page 17.

Blade and Bone: Discovery of Human Antiquity. An Exhibition of Original Publications from the Collections of the Linda Hall Library

Discovering Human Antiquity | Linda Hall Library Digital Collections

 

Based on the exhibition Blade and Bone: The Discovery of Human Antiquity, the Linda Hall Library Digital Collection "Discovering Human Antiquity" includes digital images of pages from original works that chronicled the discovery of pre-historic man. Viewers can scroll through images from books and journals in which major breakthroughs were publshed and see the earliest published sketches of human ancestors, the first human-made stone implements uncovered from the archaeological record, and the first reproductions of prehistoric art..

Curation

William B. Ashworth, Jr., Curator

Nancy V. Green, Graphic Designer
and Jon Rollins, Production Assistance

Imaging by the Digital Projects staff:
Jon Rollins, Sally Crosson, and Michael Walker

Bruce Bradley, Curatorial Assistance and Exhibition Layout
Eric Ward, Curatorial Assistance
Cindy Rogers and Nancy OFficer, Exhibition Installation