Skip to main content

Engineering Societies Papers: Searching for Papers

Google Books

Many early papers and publications can be found by searching Google Books.  Once you've identified the publication of interest, contact us to see if we have a copy in our collection.

Reference Assistance

The Library has an extensive collection of conference programs, indexes, and other finding aids to engineering papers. We regularly use these aids to help patrons find specific papers. Be sure to ask.

Linda Hall Library Research Specialists are available all hours that the Library is open.  9-5 Central Time, Monday through Friday.

Call 800.662.1545 or 816.363.4600 and ask for Reference.

Email us at reference@lindahall.org  or use the Reference Request Form.

Databases

Meeting Programs and Finding Aids

Along with the ESL Collections Linda Hall Library received a collection of meeting programs and other finding aids to the ESL Papers collections.  Research Specialists can search these resources to locate a paper number or publication location for many papers in the collections.

Digital Collections - American Engineering Publications 1867-1920

These text searchable indexes include materials from the American Society of Civil Engineers, the American Institute of Electrical Engineers (precursor to IEEE), as well as indexes to other early engineering publications.

Print Indexes

Below is a small sampling of print indexes that can be used at the library to locate papers on a topic, or specific papers.