ResearchGuides: History of Mathematics: Bibliographic Aids and Digital Collections

General Aids

Mathematics History: AMS Books and Resources
Books from the American Mathematical Society, free online books, free online resources, articles in NOTICES of the AMS.
An Introduction to the Early Development of Mathematics by Michael K. J. Goodman
Call Number: 2nd Floor QA21 .G636 2016
ISBN: 9781119104971
In Pursuit of the Unknown by Ian Stewart
Call Number: 2nd Floor QA21 .S656 2012
ISBN: 9780465029730
Calculus Reordered by David M. Bressoud
Call Number: 2nd Floor QA303.2 .B3747 2019
ISBN: 9780691181318
A History of Folding in Mathematics by Michael Friedman
Call Number: 2nd Floor QA491 .F76 2018
ISBN: 9783319724867
Mathematics and the Historian's Craft by Glen van Brummelen (Editor); Michael Kinyon (Editor)
Call Number: QA2.M3684 2005
Companion Encyclopedia of the History and Philosophy of the Mathematical Sciences by Ivor Grattan-Guinness (Editor)
Call Number: QA21.C585 1994 v.1 & v.2
Historians of mathematics are very fortunate in having a single two-volume guide to the entire field, written at a very high scholarly level by renowned specialists and featuring general and specialized bibliographic information on most of the periods and thematic fields of current interest.
Routes of Learning by Ivor Grattan-Guinness
Call Number: QA21.G696 2009
How to Read Historical Mathematics by Benjamin Wardhaugh
Call Number: QA21.W324 2010

Looking at it from Asia: the Processes that Shaped the Sources of History of Science by Florence Bretelle-Establet (Editor)
Call Number: Q175.3.L66 2010
Archive for history of the exact sciences by Truesdell, C. 1919-2000
Publication Date: v.1 (1960) -
The following article offers a useful resource to translators of Greek mathematics by providing a guide to lexical and syntactic analysis of the expressions used in classical Greek Mathematics: Acerbi, Fabio. (2011). The language of the "givens": Its forms and its use as a deductive tool in Greek mathematics. Archive for History of Exact Sciences 65 (2) 119-153.

Elementa geometria by Euclid; Adelard, of Bath; Campano, da Novara
Call Number: QA31.E8587 1482
This book has been digitized. Clicking on the link in the record above will take you to the version in Digital Collections.
Arithmetica boetij by Boethius
Call Number: QA32.B62 1488
This book has been digitized. Clicking on the link in the record above will take you to the version in Digital Collections

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a simple way to search across many disciplines and sources for scholarly literature.