Skip to main content

A Basic Guide to Getting Started at the Library: Electronic Resources

Using the library's resources and collections

The Library's Online Catalog

Search for books, journals, conference proceedings, government documents, technical reports, industry standards and specifications, engineering societies' meeting papers, digital collections and more using the library's online catalog

 

Please note: not all of the library's collections are fully entered into the library's online catalog, so it is important to consult with Reference staff for assistance in searching for library materials not yet listed in the online catalog.

Searching Beyond the Library

Try the OCLC WorldCat database to search for books and other publications not held by our library.

Databases

We have access to a variety of databases that you can use to find journal articles and papers in specific subject areas.  Please ask staff at the Reference Desk for suggestions on which databases are best for the subject you are researching. 

Some of these databases are only available from within the library and some of the databases can be accessed remotely as indicated in the link information.

Reference Assistance

Please don't hesitate to ask staff at the Reference Desk for assistance using the online catalog and databases. We can assist you to use these resources effectively and efficiently.

Also feel free to e-mail Reference with questions.  For an immediate response call 816.363.4600 or 800.662.1545.  Choose 2 from the menu choices.  Reference calls are answered all hours that the library is open.