Skip to main content
Linda Hall Library
Search this Guide
Chemistry : Quick Facts
How to Search
Toxicology, Safety, and MSDS
The elements. 3rd edition
by John Emsley.
Entry for each element includes chemical, physical, biological, nuclear, electron shell, crystal, and geological data.
Reference Desk QD466.E48 1998
WebElements: the periodic table on the Web
"Search and display of registry number, chemical name, molecular formula, structure, physical and toxicological properties plus locator and classification data."
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks
Contact a Research Specialist to identify additional resources.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
Call Number: Reference Desk QD65 .H3
The classic reference for chemical facts and data. The most recent edition is at the Reference Desk. Earlier editions can be requested from closed stacks.
Dictionary of Inorganic Compounds
Call Number: Reference Room QD148 .D52
Includes molecular weight, formulas, hazard descriptions, physical data, and bibliographic references for synthesis, use, spectra...
Dictionary of Organic Compounds
Call Number: Reference Room QD251 .D47 1996
Includes molecular weight, formulas, hazard descriptions, physical data, and bibliographic references for synthesis, use, spectra, etc.
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary
Call Number: Reference Desk QD5 .C5 2007
Definitions of terms; summaries of chemical information; formulas, properties, hazards, and uses. The most recent is at the Reference Desk. Earlier editions are in the stacks.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Call Number: Reference Room TP9 .E614
Multivolume set with extensive articles covering uses, production methods, and other information on industrial chemicals. This is often a great place to start for a broad search on a chemical or group of chemicals.
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Call Number: Reference Desk QD415 .O93 2006
The Merck Index
Maryadele J. O'Neil (Editor)
Call Number: RS153 .M4 2006 Reference Desk
Publication Date: 2006
Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry
Call Number: Reference Desk QD5 .E46 2005
A one volume reference work with more detail than dictionaries on a variety of topics.
How to Search
Jan 10, 2019 1:33 PM
Login to LibApps
history of science
philosophy of science