ResearchGuides: Engineering Societies Papers: IEEE

History of IEEE

IEEE Website
Provides an overview of the history of the organization from it's precursor organizations: AIEE (American Institute of Electrical Engineers) and IRE (Institute of Radio Engineers).
Engineering Technology History Wiki (ETHW)
The IEEE Global History Network was absorbed into the Wiki in 2015.

Digital Collections - American Engineering Publications 1867-1920

These text searchable indexes include materials from the American Society of Civil Engineers, the American Institute of Electrical Engineers (precursor to IEEE), as well as indexes to other early engineering publications.

Engineering Indexes from American Publications 1867-1920

Reference Assistance

A Reference Specialist is available during library hours, Monday through Friday from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. CST.

Contact us:

Phone: 800.662.1545 or 816.926.8701.
For questions about the collections or resources: reference@lindahall.org, or complete the Reference Request Form.
For questions about library accounts or renewals: circ@lindahall.org.
Check one of the Reference Guides that may provide additional help.

Click here for more information about using the Library.

Summary of Holdings - IEEE

The Library has unpublished papers from the AIEE (American Institute of Electrical Engineers) for 1922, 1928-1933, and 1938-1962.

The collection includes unpublished IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) papers from 1963 through 1998.

Additional published papers can be found by searching our catalog or contacting the Linda Hall Reference Staff.