ResearchGuides: Patents and Trademarks: Patent and Trademark Searching

U.S. PTO Patent Videos

NOTE:

In 2022, the PTO launched a new cloud-based system, Patent Public Search. A series of micro-tutorials are available to assist users in learning about PPS.

Patent Public Search
The system provides a more robust method for searching before submitting a patent application. Search fields include application/issued patent number; inventor/assignee name; examiners' names; and classification code(s). Users must select Basic Search if working on a smartphone or tablet.

Additional Patent Searching Resources

Video - How to Conduct a Preliminary U.S. Patent Search
"A Step by Step Strategy". Voice-narrated, slide-based patent searching tutorial from the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
6-Step Patent Search Strategy
Pages 13-25.
7-Step U.S. Patent Search Strategy Guide
Step-by-step guide for preliminary U.S. patent searching (contains screenshots from older systems, PatFT and AppFT.)
How to read a patent
From Harvard University.
Patents and Patentability (2018)
Short guide from the University of Minnesota on the basics of patents.
Patent Public Search Training Materials
Short handouts on Basic search, Workspace layouts, Managing search results and more.
Searchable indexes in Patent Public Search
Anatomy of a Patent
Prepared by the University of Michigan.
Tips for reading patents: a concise introduction for scientists
2018 Open Access article.

U.S. PTO Trademark Videos

NOTE:

The PTO launched a new trademark search system in late 2023. Updated videos are available to assist users:

Trademark Search
Search for registered trademarks and pending applications to avoid costly and time-consuming issues that can lead to a rejected registration.

Also:

Advanced Trademark Searching (2023; 104 mins.)
Transitioning from TESS to new search (for experienced searchers. 2023; 100 mins.)

PDF transcripts are available.

Additional Trademark Searching Resources

Trademark Search Help
Tips on basic and advanced searching.
Conducting a trademark search
Outlines a search procedure for searching trademarks (developed by Patent and Trademark Resource Center staff).
Trademark ID Manual
Provides a searchable listing of acceptable identifications of goods or services.
Trademark Design Search Code Manual
Provides a way to search the trademark database for designs appearing in trademarks.
State Trademark Information
Site with trademark information from all 50 states, Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia.